CTC

CTC stands for Cinammon Toast Crunch, the undisputed champion of all cereals.  Just ask the internet where every serious commentator on cold cereal similarly heralds it as the standard by which all other cereals are judged.

Now despite a childhood replete with CTC I don’t eat cold cereal much now since it is just carbs covered in more sugary carbs and thus not exactly a part of a healthy diet.  However, my wife bought a box of Blueberry Morning recently and then I discovered Cereal Eats which revealed an amazing amount of cereal innovation.  These two things led me to start trying all the new flavors coming out and I am glad I did.

My Top 5 cereals are:

  1. CTC
  2. Blueberry Morning
  3. Honey Bunches of Oats (I like cinnamon and chocolate, but haven’t had a bad one)
  4. Reese’s Puffs
  5. Honey Smacks

However, I think I must amend it after trying Chocolate Toast Crunch.  This surprises me as all other attempts at new Toast Crunch (Peanut Butter, Frosted, French) have disappointed.  Chocolate Toast Crunch is a more than worthy addition.  The chocolate is a step above what you usually get in a cereal.  It doesn’t bleed into the milk either so it stays flavorful (this might be a negative for some that like chocolate cereal milk).  Then you get a faint taste of cinnamon to finish it off.  Combining chocolate and cinnamon is a bold move for a cereal, a flavor combination you might see at a nice restaurant and they totally nail it.  I love the texture as well, a bit more rigid than the cinnamon variety which gets soggy (but no less delicious) very quickly.

In fact, it is so good that I am thinking it might be the new CTC, committing a delicious chocolate regicide.  I would need a side by side comparison.  Maybe my list will just be CTC first and second so I don’t have to decide.

Other cereals I tried recently include:

Chocolate Fiber One – Solid health food chocolate cereal.  Puffed square are a very nice texture and the chocolate is pretty good too though not Cocoa Puffs good.

Mini Cinnamon Churros – Crunchier than CTC and with a less sugary, spicier cinnamon flavor.  Very good.

Rice Krispie Treats Cereal – Internet raves about this cereal and there is definitely something delectable in the marshmallow taste.  Thankfully, the taste is not the artificial flavoring of the commercial Rice Krispie Treats but a very light and authentic marshmallow flavor.  However, I am not sure that it would crack my top 5, but if I ate more cereal it would crack the rotation if only for the novelty since nothing else tastes the same at all.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

