Kimchi Fried Rice

I have been cooking/baking a lot lately and I have been meaning to post my exploits on here.  My current love is homemade kimchi as it is delicious by itself and is versatile enough to be used in other things.  I use the Momofuku cookbook recipe which is plastered all over the web.  It is a bit sweeter than most, but no less spicy.  It’s also really easy to adjust to your tastes.  Just remember to use salt without iodine in it as iodine can retard the fermentation.

I will post what I did for kimchi fried rice:

Oil your pan, I used coconut oil some use butter, but that seems wrong for a decidedly asian dish.  I then threw some chinese sweet sausage in to cook at fairly high heat for a bit because that stuff is insanely good and seems to serve no other purpose than to be in fried rice.  I took a cup of kimchi and squeezed the juice out so that it would fry better.  I also added some spinach I had lying around and fried them together for a few more minutes.  I then added three cups of day old rice (drier rice seems to work better) and a 1/4 cup of kimchi juice, 1/4 c water, 3 Tbsp of Gochujang (but I love the stuff) and 3 teaspoons of sesame oil (or replace some with some soy sauce/fish sauce) and stir to coat rice.  Cook for like 5 minutes and then comes the eggs.  Now the internet seems to like a fried egg on top which I am sure is delicious, but I wanted to go for a rice carbonara and add some protein to the dish.  Thus I used 6 eggs for 3 cups of rice.  I just cracked them into the skillet, but I might beat them lightly beforehand next time.  I then quickly broke the yolks and coated the rice.  This way I get that unctuousness on the rice and have almost none of the cooked eggs bits you often see in fried rice.  It paired wonderfully with the sweet/spicy combination of the gochujang.  You can of course garnish with scallions, sesame seeds or traditionally a bit of roasted seaweed.

I might add a bit more kimchi next time since it got a bit swamped with that much rice, though in this case the spinach helped make up the difference.

This entry was posted in Video Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

